Develop new UU Bloggers

I’m leading a workshop at ConCentric (www.ConnectUU.com to register Aug 12-15, Iowa), the annual young adult ministry networking and leadership conference, entitled "Communicate This!".  As part of it, I want to introduce blogging more intentionally as a way to communicate, keep history, and outreach to potential new Unitarian Universalists.  Any tips?  Blogger, Livejournal, Typepad, what services would you recommend?  What angles should I focus on?

6 responses to “Develop new UU Bloggers

  1. I’m all about WordPress. Easy to set up, easy to use. Very adaptable.

  2. I use MovableType, but I’ll admit it’s harder to set up than WordPress, as you do need to have some HTML editing knowledge. I think MT would be better for many people if they were planning a group blog tho.

    I’m starting to set one up now for the Heartland YA/CM

    ~Donald

  3. Blogger is the best free one, in my opinion. Livejournal I think has the rep of being more geared toward personal journaling, blogger and other tools are seen as more serious. Some ISPs will let you use word press (or even MT) for free. I like typepad alot, because for not a lot of money, you get a fair bit of power.

    I think it’s really important to tell them about how to syndicate their blog, and read other blogs via RSS readers.

  4. I have a personal bias against Typepad at this point. I’ve done some research and I am not the only one having issues with Typepad. If someone were leaning toward a service I would recomend blogger.

  5. Blogger all the way – easy, free hosting, or take it to another host if you don’t want to use blogspot. If kids are interested in their own domains, GoDaddy is by far the cheapest and, in my experience, the most reliable.

  6. Thanks all for your comments, blogger it is.

Leave a Reply

