I Cry With My Guitar

When I was in Chiapas last June, I had the privilege of studying and learning at one of the EZLN Caracols.  One of our teachers is a guitarist, and shared this song, which he gave permission to share with you:

I CRY WITH MY GUITAR

Today I pick up my guitar
And I play for my people
I don’t really know how to play
This is my first time
I play for my people
Today my heart sings

My voice is very sad
For singing so much suffering
There is so much suffering
I ask my God
to give me strength
to liberate my people
who are very oppressed
by the super powerful
I can take no more

The neoliberals
are so bad with their bad actions
They are the ones who oppress the whole world
Finally I have strength
I now have education
I now know the dignity of others
Today my heart sings

My voice is very sad

Read on for Spanish translation

LLORO CON MI GUITARRA

Hoy tomo mi guitarra
y toco por mi pueblo
no se tocar siquiera
esta es la vez primera
mas toco por mi pueblo,
mi corazon hoy canta

Mi voz esta muy triste
por cantar tanto sufimiento
hay mucho sufrimiento,
mas pido a mi Dios
que me de su fuerza,
para liberar a mi pueblo
que esta muy orpimido
por los grandes poderosos
y no aguanto ya mas

Los neoliberales
son muy malos con sus maldades
son los que oprinmen al mundo entero
Por fin tengo una fuerza
ya tengo educacion
ya conoczo dignidad de los demas
Mi corazon hoy canta

Mi voz esta muy triste

Leave a Reply

