Male Privilege Checklist

Link: The male privilege checklist.  (An unabashed imitation of Peggy McIntosh Unpacking the Backpack of White Privilege)

The Male Privilege Checklist

1. My odds of being hired for a job, when competing against female applicants, are probably skewed in my favor. The more prestigious the job, the larger the odds are skewed.

2. I can be confident that my co-workers won’t think I got my job because of my sex – even though that might be true.

3. If I am never promoted, it’s not because of my sex.

4. If I fail in my job or career, I can feel sure this won’t be seen as a black mark against my entire sex’s capabilities.

5. The odds of my encountering sexual harassment on the job are so low as to be negligible.

6. If I do the same task as a woman, and if the measurement is at all subjective, chances are people will think I did a better job.

7. If I’m a teen or adult, and if I can stay out of prison, my odds of being raped are so low as to be negligible.
8. I am not taught to fear walking alone after dark in average public spaces.

9. If I choose not to have children, my masculinity will not be called into question.
10. If I have children but do not provide primary care for them, my masculinity will not be called into question.

One response to “Male Privilege Checklist

  1. I am trying to understand your point of view. Here is my hearfelt response to the questions:

    1)I have no experience as a subordinate in an organization. To me working as an employee for ANY organization sounds terrible. As a small person growing up, I quickly learned that I had a value that was greater than any collectivist idea of “personhood”.

    2) I have NO co-workers, and I wouldn’t want any. In my work, I ALWAYS HAVE ABSOLUTE control over my mission objectives, time schedules, whether I work or not, how my work is evaluated and so forth. I found that there is NO stress from an incompetent loser “boss”. I depend on ME to earn income. If I fail at bringing in income that is necessary than I fail. This has not ocurred.

    3) “If I am never promoted” is a silly statement to me. It is irrelevant my friend. Your hypothetical has four very flat tires. It means nothing and further implies that I am willing to be subservient to someone in an organization. How dare you suggest such a stupid thing aboout me. I thought liberals were open -minded? Your questions reveal about your apparent “liberal guilt” than I think you care to reveal.

    4. “If I fail in job or career…” WHAT? I DON’T Give a damn what anyone thinks about my “job” or “career”. You and anyone can assess or “evaluate” me in anyway you like. What is the meaning of “Black mark” and comments of sexuality. Are you trying to inject race or gender issues issues into your hypotheticals? WHY? Are you troubled in these areas?

    5. I don’t know what that is. I don’t have a”job” or “career” and don’t care about anyone who can’t “sink or swim” with only their own skills, talent or knowledge. Are you implying that I need someone else? “sexual harassment” is the whining of a “victim”. I AM NEVER A VICTIM, of me or anyone. I can’t be- its impossible. Its not part of my life script.

    6. “If I do the task as a woman…”. How on earth would I know that? First, I would have to try to someone that does what I do. I don’t think that is likely. I know of no one who does what I do! Second, why would I care what is hanging or is not hanging between someones legs. It’s none of my business, and I DON”T CARE! It has nothing to do with making me more income!

    7. When I was younger I never thought about this. WHY DO I CARE? I live where I want when I want. I mind my own business and spend my time enjoying what the world offers and I am rewarded with many good things. No one knows my gender or race. WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM? Why are you talking about raping chidren? I never thought about it and would suggest that if you want to intervene somehow, that you do whatever makes you feel better. Other than your worries, I DON”T CARE! Whay are you sitting around wondering about vchiuldren being raped in oprison. That sounds a little strange.

    8)I have never been taught to fear anyone, including mentally anguished liberals. No fear of the dark, only fear, If I had one of being in the same room with someone who thinks like you. That is really scary. You have more fears than a child. Try growing up a little, take some responsibility for yourself and stop worrying about these things that DO NOT MATTER! You sound very conflicted, sad, helpless and you communicate like a victim.

    9) You have some REALLY BIG ISSUES! I may or may not have children, it is not my concern or the concern of others. In fact I might, or might not, I really cdon’t know or care. Why do you care? If my gender/ masculinity was ever questioned I DON’T CARE. This means nothing to me.

    10> I DON”T CARE! Actually I would rather NO ONE KNOW whether I am a bio-parent or not. IT IS NONE OF ANYONE ELSES BUSINESS!

Leave a Reply

