Book of Cults & UUA

When I was visiting a colleague at Meadville/Lombard Theological School in January, I noticed Bob Larson’s Book of Cults (1984 edition, although the "new" book is available for $3.75 from 1989) on the shelf and thumbed through it as I had heard Unitarian Universalists were in it.  Indeed we were!  I made a copy of our entry, #79, only three paragraphs over two pages.  I don’t think this is public domain yet, so I won’t quote it in entirety.  Here are the parts I found interesting (or funny):

[in the beginning…] If religious movements could be classified psychologically, the lable schizophrenic would certainly apply to the UUA…since the truth of God is said to be revealed in the sacred writings of all great religions, the philosophy of UU’s is reduced to little more than an ethical system of morality…their adherence to universal truth as declared in the teachings of all prophets of all ages renders the terms "Christian" and "Unitarian" to be mutually exclusive.  [in the end]

The entry makes for good debate, in my UU Polity class with Rev Ed Lynn, or in other UU circles.

Leave a Reply

