Baby Privileges and Reactions

I was cruising around Vancouver Washington this afternoon with the baby in our three-wheeling stroller and noticed several neighborly behaviors that I found sweet and different.  At the grocery, a women matter of factly said "I’ll hold her while you place your groceries on the counter", I didn’t know what to say!  She was nice, and sounded like a city counciler talking about the wonderful community of Vancouver.  Walking down main street to the pharmacy, a sporty car driven by a young man had some loud music cranked up, and as he waited at the stop light while I sauntered by he turned it down and smiled at us.  I walked into a coffee shop with her, Starbucks of all places, for a small decaf, and had instant attention, service, and I felt like a huge yupie.  I had a dozen interactions with folks on a walk that without the baby, I would probably have none!

2 responses to “Baby Privileges and Reactions

  1. Babies = attention. I noticed it when I would take my (first) nephew out and about. They are the ultimate conversation piece!

  2. your nephew is so cute too! thanks for bringing him along to the street fair.

Leave a Reply

