On A UUSC Trip: Human Right to Water in Ecuador

I’m writing from Guayaquil, Ecuador, the largest city and commercial hub of this South American country.  I arrived last night with a small delegation from the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee, investigating and laying the foundation for more advanced organizing and advocacy around the Human Right to Water.

We’re meeting with representatives and community members from various groups, including Mi Cometa, a youth and public services observer NGO based here in Guayaquil today.  The Human Right to Water centers on the principle of affordable and equal access to clean and adequate water for human living, and is connected to the ongoing struggle against the severe privatization of water rights that has been going on.  The Human Right to Water is linking issues of children and human rights, environmental justice, and globalization.

I’m speaking a little Spanish thus far, and slowly adjusting to my role as a ministerial and young people voice in this group (I wouldn’t go as far to say a representative, as I was asked by the UUSC, not sent formally by Youth/Young Adults or the UU Ministers Association).

I had an intensive 24 hours prior to arriving here Monday night.  Sunday morning I was at church in Prince George County Maryland outside Washington DC for the wrap up and Mother’s Day Service of Rev. John T Crestwell at Davies Memorial Church.  That afternoon I drove folks to the airport and then flew home, to wish my own partner and mother of our children "Happy Mother’s Day!", re-packed, and less than 10 hours after arriving in Portland, turned back around to fly to Denver-Miami and Guayaquil.  Problem was that I had less than 60 minutes for each layover, and in Miami had to claim my bags, recheck in, go through security again, and thank god for all those long hikes and ultimate frisbee matches because I had to power walk and jog from concourse F to concourse A.  My colleague from the UUSC Nguyen was calling me being like "where are you", and I was breathlessly like, …checking back in….at security…running down the hall!  Another one of the universe’s little miracles.

One response to “On A UUSC Trip: Human Right to Water in Ecuador

  1. I understand that you are there for important humanitarian reasons, but please never forget to also comment that you are Unitarian Universalists, that yours is a liberal religion that stems from the Christian tradition to embrace all wisdom around the world, including the indigenous cultures. There are many who will feel saved just by hearing that they are not spiritually alone in the world.

Leave a Reply

