Will UU’s Follow Nadar?

Link: Newly Engaged in a Three-Front War | The Trail | washingtonpost.com.

"Ralph Nader’s view is, unless it’s Ralph Nader, then you’re not tough enough on any of these issues," he said. "He thought there was no difference between Al Gore and George Bush. I think eight years later, people realize Ralph doesn’t know what he’s talking about."

Like many UU’s, I was introduced to Ralph Nadar and the various campaigns (including the wonderful Public Citizen Group) in the warmth of my Unitarian Universalist congregation.  In 2000 I found myself strongly backing Nadar, leafletting, talking to friends, going to rallies.  I was really tired of the centrist Democratic NAFTA/Corporate Welfare/Weak on Human Rights politics.  By 2004, I was really a lot more skeptical.  Now in 2008, I’m pissed.

I love the work of Nadar, and when I was a student at the University of Oregon I helped bring Winona La Duke to speak (his VP candidate).  Still, in this time, when I find Obama to be one of the most progressive candidates we’ve had the chance to elect in modern times (I liked Dukakis but he got swamped), I’m more in agreement with Obama’s quote above about the egotism of Nadar.

Will UU’s follow Nadar again? 

 

ll

One response to “Will UU’s Follow Nadar?

  1. adding you to discoveruu.com

Leave a Reply

