Adoptee Questions

There are certain questions every adoptee I’ve known, including myself, seems to ask at some point in their life.

It was not until she was in her 30s that she began to explore her Korean heritage. One night, after going out to celebrate with her husband at the time, she says she broke down and began crying uncontrollably.

“I remember sitting there thinking, where is my mother? Why did she leave me? Why couldn’t she struggle to keep me?” she said. “That was the beginning of my journey to find out who I am.”

NY Times Article Adopted From Korea

Leave a Reply

