UU Don’t Ask Don’t Tell Policy

This is exactly what I talked about in my MDIV thesis:

When it comes to our own racial and cultural identity, our policy seems to be “don’t ask, don’t tell.” I find this both troubling and puzzling in light of our commitment seventeen years ago to create a “racially diverse and multicultural Unitarian Universalism.”

From Paul Rasor’s Berry Street Lecture 2009

Without data, we can’t address equity, and thus we end up speculating and working from poor assumption.  I was at GA but missed this presentation, and alas only now took the time to read it.  It is really quite fascinating, and I agree (and unfortunately disagree in part with the response from Rev. Rosemary Bray McNatt …”But in the end, this is not, and never will be, a numbers game”) that it is helpful to understand our context through census numbers.  I’d write more, but it is midnight.

One response to “UU Don’t Ask Don’t Tell Policy

  1. I agree with Peter Bowden who writes:
    “Personally I think that if we care we need to measure it. Without it it’s hard to have transparency and accountability.” …with respect to UUA’s policy governance.

Leave a Reply

